resolution series: [nine] honesty

image

being true to yourself means not cheating yourself because in the end you will realize you are only cheating yourself. there are no shortcuts in life because if it’s something worth achieving in life, it’s worth working for. the truth is often not easy to accept and sometimes it hurts deep down, but hurting is a good thing because it shows that it matters to you. i have fallen in that trap far too many times in the past and only recently have i realized how much wake up calls mean to me. i want to get better in this aspect because it is the only way to have continuous self improvements to be the best i can be. i find it far too easy for me to fall off track, but i am glad there’s people around me who stays honest with me and gives me the hard truth when i least expect it. i would be the first person to admit i am very stubborn and when i have a certain negative thought, it doesn’t wash away easily. i tend to let little slippages that slide away drag me down with it. it’s hard being a perfectionist because i have certain standards for myself and tend to put more stress and pressure on myself than need be. i will dwell on the mistakes and let them haunt me even if it is something very minor, but i suppose that’s not entirely a bad thing. if it is something that matters to me, i will not let that slip and only go out there to prove them wrong

Leave a Reply

